I feel as if an introduction is due.

So I guess this is me starting over.

I know a lot of people on here will be highly polished writers or blogging about interesting stories or events in their lives; but in the grand scheme of things I’m just a beginner, and wouldn’t describe my life as exciting in the slightest.This is primarily for me to document my writing and collect my thoughts; and hopefully receive some feedback and constructive criticism on the way.

So, hello. I am Laura, I am 18 and that’s about all you need to know. I’m in my final year of college and want to pursue a career in writing; but have no idea of the specifics at this stage. Any ideas would be appreciated!

Up until a week ago I wanted to be a Mental Health Nurse as I love helping people; but as I’ve always enjoyed writing but never really thought of it as a career, I suddenly thought why not? I hate making decisions and change my mind a lot but when I get an idea in my head I’ll stick to it.

One thing that really annoys me is when people believe writers can only write about things they have experienced; or you have to be of a certain age to write anything decent. Granted; unless you possess a certain level of maturity the voice is likely to be underdeveloped or lacking in some way, but I believe anyone can write – you either have it or you don’t.

That being said; I find writing difficult. Many people would disagree; I’m sure, the amount I write increases daily; but my writing style fluctuates so much, it makes it impossible for me to finish pieces.

I have twenty odd half finished pieces on my writing blog, due to the fact a) I have various ideas and try to get something down for each of them; then promise myself I’ll work on them later but never do and b) I am so preoccupied with making a piece perfect; it’s never as good as I imagine it to be, so I mentally mark each piece as a draft, to allow myself to stop writing. It’s draining but it’s worth it.

Anyway, I’m rambling on now; I’ll leave you my writing blog URL in case any of you care to take a look. However, I haven’t uploaded many pieces on there recently.

http://pluckmynamefromthestars.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

