3:15 a.m forever

The sun rises every morning like your face, and while I watch it return to the sky and the gold flecks in your eyes, I am home. The sun pours in through the window and reminds me how fresh the day is and of the promise it brings. You are cocooned, dead to the world, in a far off land of dreams -I smile at the way the sunlight hits your face, and how blissfully unaware you are. Your eyes snap open and I hurriedly glance away before you notice my gaze. A smile creeps on my lips without me realising and I settle, taking comfort in the sound of your ever deepening breaths. What once exists is never forgotten.

Leave a Reply

