what do you wish for in the dead of night?

you’re breaking so slowly, I wonder if you notice.

I don’t dare glance for too long in case you fall apart in front of me.

I wish I could bandage you up, help you through, so fragile and paper thin, you exist like my own shadow.

I wanted to heal your bones, paint over your scars with stardust and stitch your wounds so tightly you feel brand new.

I dreamt up a paradise just for us, where your broken wings were fixed as new and your eyes sparkled like once before.

I thought you’d stay, that you’d believe me eventually, if I tried hard enough.

But some things are already fixed and some things never will be.

Leave a Reply

