hibernation

Stay.

Press your lips to mine and I’ll whisper 100 reasons to keep you here.

Your eyes never seemed so bright as when you looked at me and smiled last night. I swear the moon was grinning in agreement. Your eyes asked ‘What?’ and I shook my head shyly.

When my hands shook on our first date you clasped them in yours, and kissed each knuckle in turn. I watched your lower lip quiver as you asked me inside for coffee and I politely declined.

I never knew the definition of miscommunication until you disappeared for days, your absence making my heart ache. I whispered ‘stay’ over and over into your ears but you said the cold was creeping into your bones and you were worried soon you would be completely swallowed up. I brought you soup and hot chocolate and watched you hibernate for three months straight -holding you close when the nightmares made you scream out in the night.

When April arrived, I visited you with a chocolate egg wrapped in shiny green foil. Your favourite colour – you believed it would bring you good luck and new beginnings. You told me to stay away, that you were afraid your demons would entirely consume mine. I promised I could handle it but you closed the front door in my face. Red – for anger and frustration. When I got home the green foil was crumpled and the egg was cracked.

 

 

Leave a Reply

