constellations and fires

the rain is soft on my window

my fingertips trace the raindrops as my tired eyes watch the sunrise

i remember the night we spent counting hurricanes in between our fingertips

i still remember the taste of your lips

and how i was certain heaven had exploded in my mouth

you told me that every fire burns out eventually

but you were the greatest fire i ever saw

i wonder if i’ll ever forget the way you sighed her name into my mouth

before flinching and kissing me quickly

i pretended not to hear but my eyes were wet

and when you asked i said i was just happy

i wonder if you know how much your smile brightens up a room

maybe someday i’ll go somewhere and not ache for it

Leave a Reply

