Extract from Chasing Summer

‘We would live in the city. Me and you always hated our tumultous hearts for yearning both for the bustling city life as well as the serene countryside. But we’d compromise. We’d live in the city, for ease regarding work, in a flat we could barely afford but we wouldn’t care if we were crammed in a single room. You always said a home is not a house, it’s the people that occupy it and you made that ring true. We’d scrimp and save, travel as often as we could to the countryside to explore the mountains and lakes, and everything we could. It becomes so easy to forget the beauty of nature when you’re stuck in a cramped office with crappy air conditioning and only the thought of your last crinkled cigarette coupled with not enough sleep when you finally get home to get you through the working day. But we’d make it beautiful. We’d hire a camper van every summer, eat whatever we wanted, safe in our cocooned home on the road. I’d drive us round those breathtaking country roads whilst you held your breath every time I neared the edge but you put me at ease, and you knew it. Maybe we’d have a little cottage, no, we would, a little tucked away one somewhere not many people had heard of, and we’d return to it each year, every time a little more in love with it than the last. You’d have a room for your photography equipment, and me for my writing. I’d have stacks of books and post it notes all over the place and whenever we argued you’d say you hated my mess but really my clutter made you smile. I used to catch you glancing at my scrawled notes when you thought I wasn’t looking.’

Leave a Reply

